Red Sox first team to clinch playoff birth. It isn’t good enough

Tonight Jason Varitek finally got it done. Tonight Julio Lugo was the hero and guys that have not really been producing all year long combined to help the Red Sox come from behind and be the first team in MLB to clinch a playoff birth.

I should be happy right? Well I am not. Making the playoffs is nice. It really is. I got chills when we clinched a playoff birth tonight but I also had an empty feeling in my stomach (It was probably because Lopez tried to give the game back) about a division I truly want. Why can’t Red Sox fans for once have it easy? Why can’t we be the team that wins the division and goes into the playoffs as American League Champions? and why can’t we do it in style?

I say we can. Despite the fact it took way too much effort to beat Tampa Bay tonight (and costing me a free lunch in the process. Dice-K is one win short of a bet I made)

Anyway Congrats to the Red Sox for making the playoffs. Congrats to Jason Varitek, Julio Lugo and Eric Gagne for getting us this win but now it is time to win a division.

I am all for resting David Ortiz a little and maybe fooling with our starting pitching a bit but other wise I want a division and right now it is up to the Red Sox to do it

1 Comment

Filed under Boston Red Sox, Clay Buchholz, David Ortiz, New York Yankees, Okajima, RED SOX, Terry Francona, Tito, Trot Nixon

One response to “Red Sox first team to clinch playoff birth. It isn’t good enough

  1. Pingback: NBAVids - Basketball Rocks » Red Sox first team to clinch playoff birth. It isn’t good enough

Leave a Reply

